RSS

Owl Tote finished!

27 Apr

well I have a new finish to share!!!

 

This month my very best friend  came to visit me for a whole week. I had already lined up two project to make her that she knew about, ( and you will hear about them in the up coming posts!) But there was just one project that I had to try to make her in secret. 🙂 The Goal was to have it finished by the time she left but while she left  yesterday, I was still finishing it up tonight.

She loves Owls. And yes they are EVERYWHERE these days. Everyone loves them! But she loved them long before they became the new craze. And instead of buying her a cute owl Bible bag I decided I just had to try my hand at making one for her.  I created the owl pattern myself, chose his color, and added the branch to match the fun themed satin ribbon- ( I LOVE satin ribbon!) I found this teal bag (one of  her favorite colors) at the dollar store, and after some cloth for lining was found, I was all set.

It took me several months to make this, since I took a long break in the middle to work on Christmas presents, and then another break in February and March, with travel, and vacation. So it was a long time coming, but here it is at last!!

 

 

The Front:

DSCF7986 (2)

DSCF7980 (2)

 

Ribbon detail along bottom

DSCF7988 (2)

DSCF7981 (2)

 

The inside lining. I added a pocket.

 

DSCF7984 (2)

 

DSCF7987 (2)

Detail on inner pocket

 

DSCF7985 (2)

 

 

I left the stitching here visible- Some people like to see the evidence of hand stitching as part of the charm of a piece. I used black and tan Sulky threads and the lining is just a black cotton cloth.

I am very happy with how it came out. I learned a lot of things from this project, and my bag dressing skills are improving I think. Let me know any thoughts or ideas for other great bag projects!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Owl Tote finished!

  1. knittingisfun

    April 27, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    WOW! That is some awesome gift!

     
  2. lcsutherland

    May 1, 2014 at 9:53 am

    I cannot WAIT to see it in person! Thank you so much, my Wellspring!

     

Leave a comment